Bayern Munich News

Officially confirmed: Bayern will take part in the FIFA Club World Cup 2025!

FIFA Club World Cup 2025
Foto: Getty Images

The FIFA Club World Cup 2025 will be held for the first time with 32 teams. FIFA published all the details of the new tournament on Sunday. The first participants were also confirmed. FC Bayern will be taking part.

As the world governing body announced in a statement on its website on Sunday, the FIFA Council „has taken important decisions with regard to the first FIFA Club World Cup with 32 teams“. Among other things, the official name of the competition was also announced. This is: „Mundial de Clubes FIFA“.

The exact date was also announced. The first edition of the tournament will be held in the USA from June 15 to July 13, 2025. This means that the Club World Cup will take place immediately after the end of the seasons in Europe and will extend into the start of the summer preparations.

These teams are certain to take part in the 2025 Club World Cup

FIFA has also confirmed the first participants for the tournament. The field of participants consists of 32 teams and is made up of all six FIFA confederations. Europe makes up the largest part with a total of twelve representatives. They are followed by South America (6), Africa, Asia and North America (4 each). Oceania and the host nation each receive one starting place. A maximum of four teams per country may take part.

The winners of the 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024 Champions Leagues are guaranteed a place. Chelsea FC (2021 winners) and Real Madrid (2022) have already booked their place. The top eight teams in the UEFA rankings from the last four years will also take part. Alongside Paris Saint-Germain, Inter Milan, Benfica Lisbon and FC Porto, FC Bayern has thus also secured a place via the „ranking list route“ and will therefore take part in the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup.

With Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Al Ahly (Egypt), Wydad Casablanca (Morocco), Monterrey (Mexico), Seattle Sounders (USA), Palmeiras (Brazil) and Flamengo (Brazil), seven further participants have been confirmed.

„Club World Cup will be an important milestone“

The format of the competition has also been finalized. There will be a group phase with eight groups of four teams each, who will compete against each other in a single match format. The two best teams in each group will reach the round of 16. This will be followed by a direct knockout phase with one match between the round of 16 and the final. The competition will therefore have the same format as the FIFA World Cup, with the exception that there will be no third-place match.

While the new format of the FIFA Club World Cup has been criticized by fans, experts and many players, FIFA President Gianni Infantino is confident that the tournament will be a resounding success: „Clubs play a fundamental role in world soccer and the FIFA Club World Cup 2025 will be an important milestone in providing clubs from all confederations with an appropriate stage to showcase themselves at the highest level,“ he said.

Leave a Response