HISTORICAL! Bayern Munich win the 10th consecutive Bundesliga title.

Bayern Munich
Photo: Getty Images

An historical event occurred today at the Allianz Arena, Bayern Munich were crowned Bundesliga champions for the tenth time in a row!

No team has ever achieved this feat in Europe’s top five leagues. The Bavarians faced arch-rivals Borussia Dortmund on Saturday at 18:30 CEST at the Allianz Arena which was deemed as a title-deciding match for FC Bayern. BVB were defeated by a scoreline of 3-1.

Serge Gnabry, Robert Lewandowski and Jamal Musiala were in the scoresheet for Bayern, while former Bayern player Emre Can scored for Dortmund via a penalty.

Julian Nagelsmann and his team extended their lead over BVB to 12 points with the 3-1 win in the top Bundesliga game against Borussia Dortmund and can no longer be ousted from first place three games before the end of the season.

It is the 10th Bundesliga title in a row for FC Bayern. Bayern has thus set a new record within the top 5 leagues in Europe. No other team from Italy, France. England, Spain, and Germany have achieved this feat. To date, the club has shared the record of nine titles in a row with Juventus, who managed this feat between 2012 and 2020.

The longest championship streaks in Europe’s top leagues

FC Bayern – ten titles (2012 to 2022)
Juventus Turin – nine titles (2012 to 2020)
Olympique Lyon – seven titles (2002 to 2008)
Real Madrid – five titles (1961-1965 and 1986-1990)
Huddersfield Town (1924-1926), Arsenal FC (1933-1935), Liverpool FC (1982-1984), Manchester United (1999-2001 and 2007-2009)

Thomas Müller also became the first player in history to win 11 Bundesliga titles!

Leave a Response