Bayern Munich News

Bayern name 23-man squad for 2020 Club World Cup in Qatar

Gianni Infantino
Foto: GIUSEPPE CACACE/AFP via Getty Images

Bayern Munich have named a strong 23-man squad for February’s FIFA Club World Cup in Qatar as they look to compete for another trophy this season.

The tournament is set to take place from February 4-11 and will see Hansi Flick’s side take on either Al-Duhail from the host nation or African champions Al Ahly of Egypt on 8 February at the Ahmed bin Ali Stadium.

If they win, the Bundesliga giants will face the winner of Palmeiras vs. Tigres/Ulsan Hyundai at Education City Stadium on 11 February.

Flick has picked a strong squad that includes Leon Goretzka and Javi Martinez, who tested positive for coronavirus last week. Backup goalkeeper Alexander Nubel, who has been out for several weeks due to injury, has also been named.

The travelling squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Alexander Nübel, Ron-Thorben Hoffmann
Defenders: Niklas Süle, Benjamin Pavard, Jerome Boateng, Bouna Sarr, Lucas Hernandez, David Alaba, Alphonso Davies
Midfielders: Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka, Marc Roca, Corentin Tolisso, Jamal Musiala, Javi Martinez
Forwards: Serge Gnabry, Robert Lewandowski, Leroy Sane, Douglas Costa, Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting, Thomas Müller, Kingsley Coman

There are some notable omissions as well, with Joshua Zirkzee, Chris Richards, and Tanguy Nianzou missing out.

Zirkzee and Richards are reportedly heading on loan to Parma and Hoffenheim, respectively, and Nianzou is injured.

Should Bayern succeed in their quest, it will their sixth trophy in the last 12 months – a feat only previously achieved in Europe by Barcelona in 2009.

Flick’s side have won the Bundesliga, DFB Cup, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, and DFL Supercup until now.

Bayern previously won the Club World Cup in 1976, 2001, and 2013.